There are different kinds of protein supplements in the market today that athletes, bodybuilders and exercise lovers take in order to enhance recover quickly after exercise. Even ordinary people that want to increase their protein intake have suitable protein supplement to take. But among these protein supplement, whey protein supplement is unique and it's now becoming most popular protein supplement in the market. There are many supplements in the market made from whey protein. Some are meant to be taken after workout while some are taken before workout. Many sport lovers and athletes consume whey before or after workout as the case may be in order to achieve fitness goal. But not many of the consumers of whey protein know that it is of various types. There are basically four types of whey protein. Before looking at the types, it is important to understand exactly what whey protein is.

What is whey protein

Whey protein is that type of protein that is obtained as a bye product during the process of the production of cheese when whey milk is solidified. During the coagulation process, the pH of milk drops to 4.6. Whatever that is solution after this time in the cheese production process is contained in whey protein. It contains only 5 percent of lactose, lactalbumin and some other minerals. It can be used to process other human foods after the fats have been removed. There are different ways through which whey protein can be processed which include increasing of protein content by eliminating other non-protein material and lipid. It can also be processed by simple drying. Heat can also be applied to whey in order to denature it.

Composition of whey protein

The collection of globular proteins removed from whey is what is called whey protein. Cow milk's protein content contains 80 percent casein protein and 20 percent whey protein. But this is not the same with human beings. The protein content of human breast milk contains 40 percent casein and 60 percent whey. The fraction of protein in whey makes up approximately 10 percent of the total dry solid in whey. This protein is typically a mixture of alpha-lactalbumin, immunoglobulins, beta lactoglobulin and bovine serum albumin in varying amount. These contents of whey protein in their natural form are soluble in water.

Lacto-vegetarians as well as kosher dietary laws observers may not consume whey protein given that it is a bye product of production process of cheese and the likelihood of the utilization of animal rennet. However, given improvement in supplement production, there are whey protein products specifically meant for vegetarians. These products are made with non-animal rennet (enzymes). You will find then as approved products of kosher and halal.

Whey protein contains amino acid which is a substrate for glutathione synthesis. Glutathione functions as ubiquitous cellular antioxidant. Certain experiments have been conducted in the laboratory environment. These experiment indicated that the risk of cancer in animal can be reduced by whey protein and its components. These indications are open for further research.

Types of whey protein

Basic, there are four types of whey protein. They are:

  • whey protein isolate
  • whey protein concentrates
  • native whey protein.